‘The Sebald Effect in Holocaust Literature?’

I can’t thank Dr. Tobias Boes enough for his invitation to speak on W. G. Sebald to exchange students and visitors at the University of Notre Dame in London, as part of their Global Gateway programme. Notre Dame filmed my talk, which can be viewed here:

They also posted a very kind review of my talk.

My subject was really a bridge between two projects of mine – my project on Sebald and Adler, now published in the form of ‘Witnessing, Memory, Poetics. H. G. Adler and W. G. Sebald‘, and a new project I’m thinking about, about ‘Sebald’s sons’ and the cosmopolitan futures of Holocaust literature. So apologies for the slightly raw nature of the thoughts in the talk – I hope to write them up in coherent form soon.

Leave a Reply

